Twentynine Palms: KTNP

Twentynine Palms airport is located only a few miles south of the Twentynine Palms restricted airspace and marine base. Like many of the other airports in the desert, Twentynine Palms was built in 1942 and used by the United States Army Air Forces. At the air base, the Air Force trained pilots in gliders, Fairchild PT-19, PT-17 Stearmans and a few P-40 Warhawks. The airport is at an elevation of 1888 ft and has two runways that are perpendicular to handle the various wind directions.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

This entry was posted in Flights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twentynine Palms: KTNP

  1. Sam says:

    Hello,
    Do you know if there is fuel availible at TNP? I have been unable to find out.

  2. Sam says:

    Well after multiple phone calls I was finally able to confirm that they do have fuel. San Bernardino County owns the airport and Apple Valley Airport is the one who runs it. No one was able to give me a current fuel price! I guess I will find out when I get there.

  3. Sam says:

    Current fuel price when I passed through was $6.10, if anybody is interested!

Leave a comment